Writers Block

Is there such a thing? Or is it more a case of I don’t want to write? I can’t figure it out. I love to write. It is a passion of mine yet, when the urge is not there to put words unto paper, no matter what I try to do to motivate myself, there is nothing I can do to make my fingers make those words flow. It’s in my head. It just won’t come out.

Talk about frustration!

And yet there are days when I can’t stop the words from flowing. There are days when I live in whatever I went to sleep in, IF I went to sleep at all because the words were dancing fluidly through my mind. Why can’t it  be that way always? I would have been an accomplished writer instead of a lazy aspiring one.

Is it laziness?

I don’t know.

I think part of it is that whenever I’ve written something compelling, or at least for me it is, it sits there with no where to go. Oh, I know I can post it on my blog but besides me and a few fellow bloggers who reads blogs? Unless I’m writing about something no one else has ever thought to write about or the latest Brangelina/LindsayLohan caper, who will read my blog? I’m whining, aren’t I?

Can this blog be about whining or writing?

It’s up to you.

If you are reading this, challenge me. Be gentle though, my mind has been mush lately. I do a little of this and a little of that but that’s just to get me through my day.

Challenge me.

Give me a subject to write about. I don’t care how silly or how serious but please don’t expect a Hemingway piece. I am who I am, Sonia, the aspiring writer. I have things to say but sometimes the words just won’t play. Ask me a question (keep it clean). I’ll write. I promise. But challenge me.

Would you like to read excerpts from the two books I’ve written and am in the process of editing? Well challenge me. I have to write a synopsis and then a query letter and find an agent but I can’t seem to figure out how to put over 250 pages of words into three paragraphs. And writing a query letter about myself?  I’d be writing for days. It would be another book in itself.

If I send my work to a publishing company, I know it’ll go into the slush pile, unless some college student is bored one day and happens to pick my manuscript out of the millions sent in weekly. So an agent is needed to cut that red tape for me, but in order for me to get an agent, I have to have something published or my query and synopsis has to be so great that they are banging down my door to sign me up. Yea, okay, like that’s going to happen.

I’m not being negative. I’m being realistic. I’m not a journalist. I never went to school to learn how to write creatively. I just know what I’ve been told by friends, family and even fellow writers who have taken all the writers workshops they can afford to take in the hopes that someone will recognize that one piece that will get them on the road to becoming an accomplished writer.

I write because I can. I write because I have something to say. I write because it’s how I can be passionate with words and hopefully touch the hearts of others who feel what I feel.

So challenge me. Help me get my mushy mind back into writing focus.

I’ve taken enough workshops to know that you must treat writing as a job. You must wake up each morning or night and give time to this job. Somehow, writing isn’t a job, it’s a passion. And passion isn’t paying my bills. Right now, I need challenge.

What’s the topic of the day? What challenges you? Will it challenge me too?

Help me help myself.

But remember be easy. I’m no Hemingway, but I am a writer.

One thought on “Writers Block

  1. Uhhhh. HELLOOOOO!!! You can write about me! LOL. Ok, so there’s not much to talk about on the topic of me, but I do recall numerous stories orally narrated to me over the years that have painted a vivid picture of your life and lessons as a young adult. I’ve read a lot about you from the perspective of a mother. Pick an earlier time in your life, and write about yourself or your perspective then. Or write about someone you knew then. Or whatever. Just a thought. . .run with it if you can.

Leave a Reply

