Quotes

reflection-solitude-dd06.jpg  

The reason one writes isn’t the fact he wants to say something. He writes because he has something to say.
F. Scott Fitzgerald

 

Better to write for yourself and have no public, than to write for the public and have no self.
Cyril Connolly

writing-2.jpg

Writing is the best way to talk without being interrupted.
Jules Renard

 

Reading usually precedes writing and the impulse to write is almost always fired by reading. Reading, the love of reading, is what makes you dream of becoming a writer.
Susan Sontag

Writing is the only thing that, when I do it, I don’t feel I should be doing something else.
Gloria Steinem

writing-3.jpg

I learned that you should feel when writing, not like Lord Byron on a mountain top, but like a child stringing beads in kindergarten – happy, absorbed and quietly putting one bead on after another.
Brenda Ueland

 

If the doctor told me I had six minutes to live, I’d type a little faster.
Isaac Asimov

writing-2.jpg

The faster I write the better my output. If I’m going slow, I’m in trouble. It means I’m pushing the words instead of being pulled by them.
Raymond Chandler

It is good to have an end to journey towards; but it is the journey that matters in the end.
Ursula K. LeGuin

writing-2.jpg

When once the itch of literature comes over a man, nothing can cure it but the scratching of a pen.
Samuel Lover

 

A word is a bud attempting to become a twig. How can one not dream while writing? It is the pen which dreams. The blank page gives the right to dream.
Gaston Bachelard

scribbler-current-tag.jpg

I write entirely to find out what I’m thinking, what I’m looking at, what I see and what it means. What I want and what I fear.
Joan Didion

 

We write to taste life twice, in the moment and in retrospection.
Anais Nin

Imagination is more important than knowledge.
Albert Einstein

If you start with a bang, you won’t end with a whimper.
T. S. Eliot

you-dont-say1.jpg

The first chapter sells the book. The last chapter sells the next book.
Mickey Spillane

 

Everething that doesn’t kill you, makes you stronger. And later on you can use it in some story.
Tapani Bagge

 

Writing is rewriting. A writer must learn to deepen characters, trim writing, intensify scenes. To fall in love with the first draft to the point where one cannot change it is to greatly enhance the prospects of never publishing. – Richard North Patterson

Leave a Reply

